My Mum and Dad are half a century old…

Ok , again I’ve been a lazy blog writer so I apologise! I am still here I promise!!

So I’ll pick up where I left off, probably the most important part of the past 6 weeks: I had my results through from my CT chest scan and my MRI of my pelvis and they were pretty good thankfully! The MRI showed that my pelvic tumour is still stable (touch wood) and the CT showed that my lung tumour had calcified over and it had shrunk a little bit too so I was pretty pleased with that! For now I’ve been signed off and no more appointments until the end of September!

My big project recently has to be complete the decorating of my room! Not happy with ‘princess pink’ painted walls anymore (that’s actually what the paint was called!) I decided that I wanted to get all creative and redecorate. I’ve (Dad has) moved everything around to improve my feng shui because I don’t seem to have the best of luck with things… only joking! But we thought it would be nice to move the room around a bit and try and make it look a bit bigger! I went for a light green/blue on the walls and bought half of Ikea to try to bring it up to speed and I’m really happy with how it’s turned out. This is one of my walls which I have turned into a massive collage of basically my life!

P1010347

My Collage.

I’ve been working hard at the sweet shop (If you can work hard in a sweet shop?) and I’ve been discovering lots of new sweets that I’d never tried before. Toffee crumble has become the new family favourite with Dad scoffing a large majority of it! I even  managed to do a 30 hour week last week which considering my energy levels I was pretty pleased that I could push myself that much and for it to pay off.

Mum and Dad had a massive party at the beginning of August to celebrate their 50th Birthdays. We had about 80 people come and celebrate with us and it was a really cool time. Dad cooked a huge amount of food – which he still didn’t think was enough even though we had loads left. And I stupidly agreed to do ice cream for the dessert – so after a week full of ice cream and cupcake making I was left with 32 litres of ice cream and 80 cupcakes which I believe all went down very well!

Mum and Dad asked that instead of presents – if people wanted to give anything then they donated money to the Teenage Cancer Trust, we ended up raising over £800!! I was really pleased with that and a huge thank you to everyone who donated and helped made they day really special!

Dad party

Dad with his 3 litre bottle of vodka!

We went to Ireland this week with some family friends – Ann and Andy. We went out on Monday 10th and came back on Monday 17th and it was definitely a fun, food filled trip! Throughout the week we drove around northern Ireland taking in all of the sights and it was beautiful and the weather was actually beautiful as well! With one of the attractions being closed due to high temperatures – I’m not sure if 22C counts as high temperatures but hey, it’s Ireland I suppose! We visited a prison on Wednesday called The Crumlin Road Gaol which was really interesting. Our guide explained the history of the prison and some of the stories of the prison such as the executions and break-outs. We were also shown the execution room which was pretty intense and probably not for the faint hearted! I’ve heard that you can have paranormal trips around the prison in the middle of the night which I’d love to try, however I’m not sure if I’d be too much of a wimp or not? I’ll let you decide that one!

P1010306 P1010313 P1010317

Above is the Prison and some of the sights of Northern Ireland.

We went to lots of pubs and a few restaurants as well. One of my favourites: Cosmo, which has probably most foods you can think of and everything I tried was really good! I don’t remember the last time I ate that much! We also had a lovely meal on the Sunday before we left at a local restaurant to Dad called ‘The Parson’s nose’. I had roast beef and it was fantastic, the meat had a great colour and great marbling of fat throughout it – it was a lovely way to finish our trip!

The flight on the way out was really quick and easy, however the flight on the way back was quite hectic – that might have been my fault… Now I always set the alarms off when I’m scanned on the way through the airport because of my bionic leg and on explaining what was wrong with me the person checking me didn’t seem to believe me. It didn’t help that my bag also set off the alarms. Apparently I had a large metal item in my bag which they had to search. I’d forgotten I’d taken my bag to college a few times last term so I actually had a dessert spoon in my bag. Trying to explain that to the security guard really wasn’t too fun and joking ‘don’t you carry a spoon everywhere?’ didn’t help… Never mind – we eventually got through and got home in one piece! All in all the food, company and scenery where all spot on. Another great trip in Ireland!

P1010335 P1010344

I think that brings you up to date for now and I will try to make sure my next update isn’t in 6 weeks time!

Leave a Reply

